Home Page

Learning together, proud of our success, inspired for life

  • Google Translate
  • Google Search



Role of Governors at our school

The Governors of James Wolfe School have three main roles:


  1. They are responsible, along with the Head teacher for the strategic direction of the school.

  2. The governing body is accountable for the performance of the school to parents and the wider community.

  3. They act as a ‘critical friend’ using their expertise challenge and support the school to improve.


Contacting Governors

Governors can be contacted via the school office.  Place any communication in an envelope marked Governors and  we will ensure it is passed to the Chair of Governors.

Our Governors:

PARENT GOVERNORS Hilja Lindsay-Muwonge, Megan Toogood


COOPTED GOVERNORS Simon Wong, Bill Evans, Ruth Powell-Evans, Katy Atkins, Lee Witham

STAFF GOVERNORS Aisling Nutley, Stephen Harris (Headteacher)


IN ATTENDANCE David Westerby (Head of Randall Place), John Beith (Head of Royal Hill), Gill Sax (Business Manager)


CHAIR Lee Witham; VICE CHAIR Katy Atkins


Register of Interests
All members of the Governing Body - and staff, where appropriate - are required to complete an annual declaration of their financial and pecuniary interests and any relationships between Governors and members of the school staff.  This declaration must also include business interests of relatives, such as parents, spouses, co-habitees or business partners, where influence could be exerted by that person over a Governor or member of staff or where the Governor or staff member could benefit directly or indirectly from a transaction with the school.
Please follow the link below for the Governing Body Register of Interests:

Note on Committees


The governing body meets monthly as a full body. There are no regular committees. 

Occasional committees may be formed as needed (eg pay committee, staff disciplinary, pupil exclusion, complaints).  Membership of these is decided during monthly meetings. 


Committee meetings / membership in 2017 2018

Pay Committee - Lee Witham, Ruth Powell Evans, Catherine Riney